Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United States
  3. St. Louis
  4. Midtown
  5. Clayton
Bar & Seating Area at Cafe la Vie - Cafe La Vie, Saint Louis, MO

Cafe La Vie

3.9
3.9
199 Reviews
$31 to $50
French
  • Good for business meals
  • Great for brunch
  • Kid-friendly
Welcome to Cafe la Vie located inside the Le Meridien Hotel in Clayton!

Indulge yourself in the wonderous French European style cuisine created by our amazing team of culinary artists or a signature cocktail poured by our talented bartenders. Our spacious 7,400 sq. foot restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, Sparkling Hour (our version of happy hour) and dinner in the heart of downtown Clayton.

Cafe la Vie offers dishes highlighting European classics with local St. Louis flavors in a warm and inviting environment.



Make a reservation

2 people

11:30 PM


Booked 5 times today

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Price
    $31 to $50
  • Cuisines
    French, American, Comfort Food
  • Hours of operation
    Breakfast Mon–Fri 6:30 am–11:00 am Sat, Sun 7:00 am–11:00 am Lunch Daily 11:00 am–2:00 pm Happy Hour Daily 4:00 pm–7:00 pm Dinner Daily 5:00 pm–10:30 pm
  • Phone number
    (314) 863-0400
  • Payment options
    AMEX, Discover, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress code
    Casual Dress
  • Executive chef
    Mark Hollimon
  • Catering
    Contact the sales department at 314-719-4308.
  • Private party facilities
    Contact the sales department at 314-719-4308.
  • Neighborhood
    Clayton
  • Cross street
    Bonhomme and Bemiston
  • Parking details
    2-hour complimentary parking available at Le Meridien St. Louis Clayton with validation from front desk.
  • Public transit
    Metrolink Clayton stop
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dog Friendly, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Vegan, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What 199 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

3.9
3.9 based on recent ratings
  • 3.9Food
  • 4.3Service
  • 3.8Ambience
  • 3.3Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • St. Louis

    Great for brunch

  • St. Louis

    Good for business meals

  • St. Louis

    Kid-friendly

  • Midtown

    Great for brunch

  • Midtown

    Good for business meals

  • Midtown

    Good for groups

199 Reviews
  1. gregp

    St. Louis

    3 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on June 18, 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 1
    We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to try something new. It was very disappointing. The food was only fair. The drinks were good but overpriced and the service was very slow. Our server greeted us quickly but it seemed to fall apart after the initial greeting. She seemed to be the only server so perhaps they were understaffed. I also mentioned in the reservation that it was our anniversary but that wasn’t acknowledged. We won’t be returning.
    Cafe La VieResponded on June 21, 2024
    Dear gregp, Thank you for dining with us recently. We are happy you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us and are glad you loved your delicious food. However, we apologize for the service issues you encountered and the inconvenience this caused you. We take these concerns seriously and will address them with the staff to ensure they are not repeated. We hope to have another opportunity to show you both the hospitality for which we are known on your next visit. Dennis Bond Director of Food and Beverage

    Is this helpful?

  2. HilaryN

    Phoenix

    87 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    87 reviews

    Dined on June 2, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    It’s simple we enjoyed a nice quiet dinner. The food was good, the service was good and we could speak softly and hear each other.
    Cafe La VieResponded on June 5, 2024
    Dear Hilary, Thank you for choosing Café La Vie and posting such a great review. We continually strive to ensure our guests enjoy everything about their time with us, so we are pleased that you had an exceptional dining experience. Thank you again for the generous rating, and we hope you will return soon. Dennis Bond Director of Food and Beverage

    Is this helpful?

  3. Chantz

    Memphis/West TN

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 25, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Our server was excellent! Food was sensational! Best tartine and lamb I’ve had in a long time!
    Cafe La VieResponded on May 28, 2024
    Dear Chantz, It is always a pleasure receiving comments from diners, especially when they mention the outstanding service. Our team at Café La Vie is devoted to ensuring every meal is exceptional, so we thank you for your compliments. We look forward to serving you again soon. Dennis Bond Director of Food and Beverage

    Is this helpful?

  4. Eatoit

    St. Louis

    23 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    23 reviews

    Dined on May 13, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Food and service was quite good. An enjoyable meal.
    Cafe La VieResponded on May 14, 2024
    Dear Guest, On behalf of our staff, thank you for the nice review! We are pleased to know how much you enjoyed your meal and our thoughtful service. All of us at Cafe La Vie look forward to having you dine with us again. Dennis Bond Director of Food and Beverage

    Is this helpful?

  5. OpenTable Diner

    St. Louis

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 12, 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    The Mother’s Day brunch was terrible, the food was poor quality but I could get over that. The problem is that neither my wife nor I received any service. The wait staff were happy to wait on all the other families in the establishment, but for some reason not mine. I don’t want to throw around a bunch of accusations, but denying service to lesbian parents on Mother’s Day is a terrible look. You couldn’t pay me to go back to this place.
    Cafe La VieResponded on May 14, 2024
    Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your detailed comments about your time with us. We want to extend our most humble apologies for not providing you and your wife with an exceptional dining experience on such a special day. We deeply regret that the food we served did not meet your expectations and for the level of service you received. What you experienced is certainly typical of our standards, We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us as we continually strive to improve. We are grateful for your patience, and we hope to have another occasion to provide the seamless hospitality you deserve. Dennis Bond Director of Food and Beverage

    Is this helpful?

  6. Chrissy

    St. Louis

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on May 11, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The overall experience was fantastic from the food to the customer service and our waitress she made us feel very special while celebrating Mother’s Day early !
    Cafe La VieResponded on May 15, 2024
    Dear Chrissy, Thank you for the wonderful review and for recommending us online. We are thrilled that you chose to celebrate Mother's Day with us at Café La Vie. We strive to provide each guest with a great experience, and we are delighted to hear that your time with us was excellent. It was nice to learn how much you loved the food we served and especially, the hospitality delivered by our team, which made this special day even more memorable. Your compliments will be a pleasure to share, and we look forward to our next opportunity to serve you again Dennis Bond Director of Food and Beverage

    Is this helpful?

  7. JohnV

    St. Louis

    4 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on May 11, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Our server, Corinthian, was outstanding! She was friendly, attentive, hard-working, and lots of fun! She is a gem!
    Cafe La VieResponded on May 12, 2024
    Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to post such a terrific review of Cafe La Vie. We are thrilled you enjoyed dining with us, and we are happy to see Corinthian took such good care of you! She is a dedicated member of our team, and it is great knowing you were given such attentive service. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will dine with us again soon. Dennis Bond Director of Food and Beverage

    Is this helpful?

  8. OpenTable Diner

    Kansas City

    49 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    49 reviews

    Dined on May 10, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Our waitress, Angela, was professional and personable. It wasn't very busy. Disappointed to see many tables covered with dirty dishes. The menu was pricey but good selection. Chicken salad on croissant was delicious, as was the steak sandwich.
    Cafe La VieResponded on May 11, 2024
    Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are glad to know you enjoyed the delicious food we serve and that you were pleased with the thoughtful hospitality you received from Angela. We will be sure to share your kind remarks with her. However, we are sorry for the oversight you mentioned. We will address your comments appropriately as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again on your future visit to the area. Dennis Bond Director of Food and Beverage

    Is this helpful?

  9. Band63

    St. Louis

    25 reviews

    4.0

    25 reviews

    Dined on April 28, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    We chose Cafe La Vie because we could get a reservation and the menu online looked tasty. I have to say that I was disappointed that a French restaurant didn’t have a croissant option. I had eggs Benedict and the sauce was lovely but instead of Canadian bacon it has slices of ham lunch meat and it sure wasn’t an English muffin underneath. It was bread that had been cut in a circle. The omelet my friend had was good. There weren’t more than 10 people eating when we were there and it took a long time to get waited on and get food. Our server was very pleasant and once things got going it was ok. Not sure where the holdup was. All in all not $53 worth of breakfast for sure.
    Cafe La VieResponded on May 3, 2024
    Dear Band63, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent dining experience at Cafe La Vie. We deeply regret that we did not meet your expectations in terms of menu options and food quality. Your feedback regarding these issues has been duly noted, and we will review our menu offerings to ensure that they align with the expectations of our guests. We are also sorry for the delays in service that you experienced during your visit and have addressed appropriately. Thank you again for choosing us, and we hope to see you again. Dennis Bond Director of Food and Beverage

    Is this helpful?

  10. CharleyandLiz

    St. Louis

    359 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    359 reviews

    Dined on April 15, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We loved our server,Angela ! She was fantastic! The Hostess, Queen, was wonderful!
    Cafe La VieResponded on May 3, 2024
    Dear CharleyandLiz, Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the inspiring service and delicious menu. We will ensure that Angela knows how much you enjoyed their attentive hospitality. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you again at Café La Vie. Dennis Bond Director of Food and Beverage

    1 person found this helpful

FAQs

Cafe La Vie is rated 3.9 stars by 199 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

11:30 PM


Booked 5 times today
Google Map for Cafe La Vie

7730 Bonhomme Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63105

Additional information

  • Cross street
    Bonhomme and Bemiston
  • Neighborhood
    Clayton
  • Hours of operation
    Breakfast Mon–Fri 6:30 am–11:00 am Sat, Sun 7:00 am–11:00 am Lunch Daily 11:00 am–2:00 pm Happy Hour Daily 4:00 pm–7:00 pm Dinner Daily 5:00 pm–10:30 pm
  • Price
    $31 to $50
  • Cuisines
    French, American, Comfort Food
  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Dress code
    Casual Dress
  • Parking details
    2-hour complimentary parking available at Le Meridien St. Louis Clayton with validation from front desk.
  • Public transit
    Metrolink Clayton stop
  • Payment options
    AMEX, Discover, Mastercard, Visa
  • Executive chef
    Mark Hollimon
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dog Friendly, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Vegan, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Phone number
    (314) 863-0400
  • Catering
    Contact the sales department at 314-719-4308.
  • Private party facilities
    Contact the sales department at 314-719-4308.
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo